ESA 2018 All-Star Team Announced at Surf Expo

January 26, 2018 – The Eastern Surfing Association announced its incoming 2018 All-Star Team members Friday evening at Surf Expo.  The ceremony, which took place at the beginning of the East Coast Surfing Hall of Fame’s event, brought together several generations of east coast surfers.

“It was the perfect way to bring together ESA’s elite surfers with the older generation who have greatly impacted surfing along the east coast,” said Michelle Sommers, ESA’s executive director.  “Most inductees into the Hall of Fame have ties to the ESA throughout their years so it makes sense to showcase our up-and-coming talent.”

ESA’s 2018 All-Star Team with coach Jason Motes, mentors Pamela Hill and Krissy Torelli, and ESA executive director Michelle Sommers. Photo: Cliff Franz

Cecil Lear, one of the ESA’s co-founders said, “It was a great time having the young kids on the stage with those being inducted.  Everyone was on board to bring everyone together as it just makes sense.”

Emily Grossarth, an incoming team member said, “The ceremony was spectacular and was a night I will remember for the rest of my life.”


The 2018 ESA All-Star Team members are:
Coach – Jason Motes | NFL

  • Abigail Remke NGFL
  • Ben McCarthy | NFL
  • Blake Tanner | NFL
  • Blayr Barton | VA
  • Callie Rae Summerlin | SNC
  • Dylon Weeks | SNC
  • Emily Grossarth | CNJ
  • Gavin Coluccio | NCFL
  • Jasmine Gailey | CFL
  • Kanoa Wong | VA
  • Katelyn Sewell | SNC
  • Logan Coluccio | NCFL
  • Luke Tanner | NFL
  • Maddie Franz | SAFL
  • Maddie Ryan | NNE
  • Nicholas Hutchins | NNE
  • Olivia Beaven | NCFL
  • Rachel Wilson | VA
  • Sarah Abbott | PBFL
  • Symcha Sachs | NY
  • Ted Eberhart | VA
  • Thomas Sims | NGFL
  • Trevor Francis | SNC

Jr. All Stars Team

  • Braeden Kopec | NCFL
  • Carl Burger | NFL
  • Charles Oblinger | SNC
  • Chase Lieder | NY
  • CJ Mangio | NY
  • Kendrick Remahl | SNC
  • Miller Brennan | NY
  • Tucker Collins | SNJ

All Star Team Mentors

  • Kainalu Nichols
  • Jesse McCrery
  • Samantha Newkirk
  • Drew Pigott

Be sure to check out the highlight video of the incoming team members compiled by ESA sponsor, Shoots Media.  You can view profiles on all the team members on the ESA’s All-Stars webpage.  The ESA wishes to thank the East Coast Surfing Hall of Fame and Surf Expo for allowing the All-Stars to have such a memorable ceremony.

Leave a Reply

5 × 1 =